Majisuka Gakuen 2 – Thoughts On The Unfolding 2nd Season

7 05 2011

I expect most of you will have been glued to your PC’s either watching Majisuka Gakuen 2 live on Japanese TV or waiting for the subbed version of each episode to appear on the internet. The 2nd season has more than surpassed my expectation and it’s a lot better than the 1st season. There’s a more complex storyline rather than each week seeing Acchan kick the shit out of an opponent (not that it wasn’t fun to watch!). So here’s some of my thoughts about what I’ve seen so far:

What is Acchan doing? She’s keep popping those sakura leaves into her mouth and acting like a drugged out zombie yet she’s seeking out punks on the streets just so she can get her kicks whilst beating the crap out of them. It’s only a matter of time before she snaps out of it and returns to Maji High to sort the crisis there.

Where have the twin sisters of Yuko disappeared? They appeared briefly at the end of episode 1 and throughout episode 2 with a message for Acchan but haven’t been seen in episodes 3 and 4. You’d think if they were so desperate to see Acchan that they’d look for her on the streets. They’ll be back – count on it.

Nice to see the loli Shanshou sisters return in episode 4 but was it me or weren’t they the force they were in the 1st season. Maybe it’s because Maachan was missing. They were ruthless as the Triangle Of Terror. I wasn’t expecting Gakuran of all people to beat them. I hope they make another appearance soon because they’re creepy as hell.

Who would have expected Shibuya to shift her allegiance to Yabakune? That was a total surprise for me. I understand her reason for wanting revenge on Acchan but to see her change school and align with the enemy – it was unexpected but I do like seeing her command an army of subordinates and using poor Kuumin (Dance) as a punching bag (although it looks like she’s enjoying it judging by the smile on her face). I suspect we’ll see the former Queens return to sort her out real soon. I can just see the expression on her face as Sado confronts her. I hope this really happens.

Nezumi is proving to be a bigger devious bitch than before. I can only congratulate Mayuyu because she’s fantastic as the character. I really enjoy watching her. Jurina as Senta is being used as a pawn in her power games and she’s too stupid to realise what’s going on. It’s going to be a big shock for Senta when she finds out though as she’s admitted that she likes Nezumi.

Gekikara is without a doubt the best character of the 2nd season so far in my opinion. Trying to suppress her natural psychotic behaviour as a promise for Yuko, I’ve just been waiting for her to cast off her shackles and kick major league ass. It seems that going to happen in next week’s episode after the shocking and cowardly beating of Gakuran at the hands of Yabakune. That was heartbreaking to watch. I thought Gakuran was dead but from the preview of episode 5 she’s still alive. I don’t understand why Gakuran would go alone to Yabakune knowing full well that Shibuya would be shielded by her subordinates. There was no way in hell that she could go through the whole school to get at 1 person however good a fighter she is, it was like a suicide mission.

Team Hormone – they try to be so tough but when it comes to the crunch they’re rather weak. I’d like to see them just for once come out on top and win a fight especially as they have a motive for revenge with Bungee getting destroyed by Shibuya’s 4 trusted lieutenants.

Otabe (Yui Yokoyama) – no opinion on her so far as she hasn’t done anything of significance. Apart from trying to stop Gakuran from storming off to face Yabakune which didn’t work, the new leader of Rappappa seems to be sitting tight and waiting for something to happen before she takes some action. Is she waiting for Acchan to return and then ask for her help?

So that’s what I’ve got to say at this moment. I’ll probably make another post after watching a couple more episodes. I’m seriously enjoying Maji 2, it’s the highlight of my week…..counting the days down until I see a new episode. Rather sad isn’t it!!


Actions

Information

One response

9 05 2011
jirubin_rei_hachi

Read the first paragraph of this entry (trying to avoid spoiling myself) and I have to say, you got me more eager to see the DVD come out🙂
Although I don’t fully understand Japanese language yet, I’ll be getting this one on video when it comes out.

Leave a Reply

