What’s Going On With SKE48?

16 05 2012

I checked the ORICON STYLE website at lunchtime to have a look to see the 1st day sales for SKE48’s new single Aishiteraburu! and was astounded by the very low sales they achieved. I did have to look twice if my eyes were deceiving me. They only sold 98,952 which is very odd as usually you expect something over 250k. Even Nogizaka 46′ last single did better on the first day! So what the hell has happened? Is the single not good enough or are fans saving up their money to buy multiple copies of AKB48’s single next week in order to cast many votes in the senbatsu election? It’s possible that the Theater Editions hasn’t been shipped out yet or that’s what many fans are saying but if sales don’t improve in the next couple of days this would be embarassing for SKE48 who have seen their sales steadily building up with their past couple of releases.

Another problem is the stupid amount of releases that are being churned out weekly by not only the main 000 groups but sub-units/solo artists  as well. Management need to look at the dates with single releases and try and space them out better in the calendar year. It’s just been one release after another recently and this isn’t the first time for this to happen. Don’t they realise that the majority of fans aren’t rich and we can’t afford to buy every single that comes out especially with multiple versions. Money doesn’t hang off trees that we can just pluck off like leaves and happily trudge off to the shops to buy the CD’s. I have to choose carefully what I buy and the releases that I do miss out I usually buy when I visit Japan.

Anyway I did go off on a rant there but I really hope that SKE48’s sales will pick up before the weekend.


Actions

Information

10 responses

16 05 2012
jirubin_rei_hachi

I lost track of the releases from SKE. Last one I got was Katamoi Finally. Is that up to date? I still haven’t seen the video for it as I was busy rebuilding my iTunes library because my computer broke down. As we speak, I’m just importing Sashi’s cd (good cd btw).

You are right, they should plan the releases more carefully. No sense in competing with each other on the charts. And also to give breathing room for the fans.

16 05 2012
akb48fan

Yes, you are up to date with your SKE48 releases. Katamoi Finally was the last single before Aishiteraburu!

16 05 2012
jirubin_rei_hachi

Oh ok. But I think I skiped one, OkiDoki…

16 05 2012
Recommended Reading: May 16th, 2012 | Idolminded

[…] What’s Going On With SKE48? – IXA Ready Confusion over why the first-day sales were just shy of 100,000. […]

17 05 2012
rukichan

98K didn’t include the theater editions. Today’s sales are at 288K. They’ve already beaten Nagiichi’s 1st week sales in just 2 days.

17 05 2012
Asuka

they sold over 288k today…..

17 05 2012
akb48fan

It must be that the Theater Editions finally got shipped out to customers. I’m glad that things are back to normal because I was beginning to worry about the figures yesterday

7 06 2012
SweetS30

do you know the daily ranking for the single?? and for Nagiichi from NMB48

7 06 2012
akb48fan

Take a look at this page, it’s got the daily rankings and the overall weekly sales total for the single: http://www.generasia.com/wiki/Aishiteraburu!

Use the search engine to find the same info for NMB48’s Nagiichi.

Hope this helps you.

7 06 2012
SweetS30

Ok Thank you

Leave a Reply

